Posted by: Justin | June 30, 2011

How to Identify Spam Comments

I often check my blogs and I look forward to looking at the comments I get. I don’t really get a lot here, but getting meaningful comments is very uplifting for me. However, the vast majority of what I get is worthless, in fact about 95% of the comments I get are garbage though and that’s what I don’t like.

I think it’s hard to judge sometimes what’s a legitimate comment and what’s not. Some of the spammers are very clever. Here are some tips on identifying spam based on what I’ve seen so far:

1. Look at the commentator’s name. If it’s something like “guccihandbags4u”, “laurent shoes”, “cosmetic tatooing” or anything that looks like that, then it’s likely spam.

2. Look at the weblink, which most will readily provide since they want people to go buy their crap (or get hit with an embedded virus). Again, if it’s a link to something that advertises a product, the comment provided is spam. For crying out loud, don’t click the link!

3. Finally look at the comment itself. If it’s very vague or the grammar is atrocious, then it’s likely spam. That and looking at the first two items combined will spell it out for you.

Legitimate comments will usually actually refer to the post the commentator is attaching the comment to. They will also have a name that makes sense and a normal web link or email address. Here are a couple of examples:

Spam Sample

 

Example of Non Spam

Ways to combat spam do exist. Ensure you have your comments set for moderation so you can determine what’s legit and what’s not. I find that having my personal site here on WordPress helps too, however for sites that are self hosted, you will want a plugin like Akismet that does a good job of identifying spam and sending it to your spam box. From there you can go in and determine what’s not spam (9.5 times out of 10 it is).

Feel free to share your experiences with spam, some of the crazy comments you’ve seen or how you combat it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

